Happy Halloween 2012

Halloween is my favorite holiday. I love the costumes, candy, trick-or-treating, parties, haunted houses, jack-o-lanterns, and pumpkin seeds. Even when I got too old to do the neighborhood rounds, I still made sure to watch a horror movie on this most wonderful of holidays.

It was our school Halloween festival in sixth grade. Everyone wore costumes. I have always tried to wear a new costume every year. For my first Halloween I was a clown. Later on I was a wizard, a dog, and a grim reaper. This particular year I decided to do a classic. A ghost. The white sheet over the head with the eyes cut out. I figured everyone should do that at least once in their lives.

There was a costume contest, divided into categories. You know… scariest, funniest, best duo. When it was your category’s turn, you had to walk around as the entire school judged you. I decided to try out for the most original category.  After all, ghosts are one of the original characters of Halloween. You can’t get more original than vampires, witches, and ghosts. They were there from the beginning, the very “origin” of Halloween.

Needless to say, I soon realized the people were laughing at me, saying I wasn’t original. Clearly, I had misunderstood the meaning of the word. I’m not even sure if they knew it was me under that sheet, but I was traumatized by the experience. Nevertheless, All Hallow’s Eve remains my favorite holiday. That’s why in addition to this confession you also get some rather spooky art and music. Happy Halloween to all Interopians, wherever you are.



Leave a comment